Universalist Unitarian Pagans

Universalist Unitarian Pagans – Pagan Blog Project

Unitarian Universalists (UUs) came together in the 60s, from two distinct Christian faiths.  Unitarians rejected the ‘trinity’ view of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit in preference for a united god figure.  Universalitsts don’t believe that our souls are damned unless we are ‘saved’, instead that we are all divine and don’t require ‘salvation’.

They came together in 1961 to form a religious group that believes that each person is free believe what they want on issues such as the existence, nature, and meaning of life, deities, creation, and afterlife. UUs can come from any religious background or sexual preference, many describe themselves as atheist, agnostic, deist, monotheist, pantheist, polytheist, or pagan.  They drew up a set of seven principles, which draw upon many spiritual sources, including earth-based traditions.  (Wiki)

Later, the Covenant of Unitarian Universalist Pagans (CUUPS) was formed as an association of Unitarian Universalists who define themselves as Pagans or Neopagans.  One of their mandates is to promote and support contemporary paganism and other nature-centered spirituality.

Being Pagan, especially raising Pagan children, can be difficult.  Because the UUs are ‘open to all’, many Wiccans looking for a centralized community to belong to find what they are looking for at the various Universalist Unitarian churches around North America.

A group of Vancouver Unitarians offer a popular Paganism 101 course via CD-Rom, which celebrates Unitarianism’s Sixth ‘Source’; “Spiritual teachings of earth-centered traditions which celebrate the sacred circle of life and instruct us to live in harmony with the rhythms of nature.”

Wiki CUUPS
CUUPS
Wiccans and Unitarian Universalism

© A Year And A Day (2012)

9 thoughts on “Universalist Unitarian Pagans

  1. Hi! I’ve been following this blog for a fairly short time, but I wanted to say hi and thank you for all the wonderful information you provide. This post is especially interesting to me.

    Thanks!

  2. This is an interesting post. I’ve have evidenced in particular your words about the difficulty to be a pagan and raise children in a non-christian perspective. This aspect should be a focal point of a wider discussion for its critical and sensitive importance. It’s extremely difficult to re-acquire a pre-chirstian vision and maintain it above all inside a christian-catholic environment. The so-called “common people” can turn extremely intollerant (more than one can expect) towards paganism thanks also of centuries of prejudices. Not to say of fascists, satanists or other foolish and ignorant individuals who have nothing to share with a real paganism.
    There’s a lot to say about it. And probably everyone of us has a very interesting experience to tell…

    • I agree. I myself don’t have children, but I know other Pagans that do. Some seem to have no problem raising their children Pagan, while others seem to experience difficulty, for both themselves and the child. In some places in Canada, we have two school boards – public and Christian/Catholic. Canada is definately “Christian first”, other religions second. I would assume Pagan children would have a hard time going through their formative early years with only a few other Pagan children to share the experience with.

    • Certainly this is a subject that deserves greater attention. I was raised by a Wiccan mother who encouraged me to explore different faiths as well as her own. I eventually chose to identify as Pagan myself, although I do not practice as Wiccan. With my own children I follow the same method as my mother as I feel strongly that whatever religious beliefs they feel most connected with will be the best choice for them as individuals. I believe the key to responsibly teaching our children about matters of faith is to stress absolute respect for all religious beliefs. Tolerance, without the emphasis on respect, is far too limited by itself to be of any real use in promoting serious interfaith dialog, in my opinion. While it may be a decent starting point, more is required if society is to make meaningful change.

      • I also agree respect is key, tolerance is not enough. I appreciate there are groups like the Unitarians that promote togetherness and tolerance. I was raised Catholic, which is not a very tolerant sect of Christianity! But I was still able to form my own decisions regarding what I wanted to believe.

  3. My Grandmother loved being part of the Unitarian community in her town. It fit right in to a belief she passed on to me: no matter what our walk of faith, it is possible for us to coexist in peace.

Leave a Reply

