August – Corn Moon

Pagan: Corn Moon, Wyrt/Wort Moon, Herb Moon, Dispute Moon, Barley Moon
Native American / Farmers’ Almanac: Sturgeon Moon, Grain Moon, Red Moon

In the Pacific Northwest, August’s Full Moon arrives on August 1 at 7:27 pm (PST).

Nature Spirits: dryads
Herbs: chamomile, St. John’s wort, bay, angelica, fennel, rue, orange
Colors: yellow, gold
Flowers: sunflower, marigold
Scents: frankincense, heliotrope
Stones: cats eye, carnelian, jasper, fire agate
Trees: hazel, alder, cedar
Animals: lion, phoenix, sphinx, dragon
Birds: crane, falcon, eagle
Deities: Ganesha, Thoth, Hathor, Diana, Hecate, Nemesis, Lugh, Danu, Áine

Energy: Energy into harvesting, gathering, appreciating, gratefulness, vitality, health, friendships.

  • Sturgeon, a large fish of the Great Lakes and other major bodies of water, was most readily caught during this month.
  • A few tribes called it the Full Red Moon because, as the moon rose, it appeared reddish through a sultry haze.

Pagan’s Path
Angel Fire
Willow Grove
Magick
Wicca.com
Farmers’ Almanac

© A Year And A Day (2012)

19 thoughts on “August – Corn Moon

  1. Very interesting site. According to the Tradtional Roman Religion, August is enterely devoted to Diana (female polarity of Apollo) also symbolized by the Moon, the bow, the Crescent Moon.
    Pax et fortuna

      • Actually, according to the Traditional Sacred Calendar, Cerealia is a festivity celebrated during the Idi of April (mid-April). Ceres (Terra Mater) is named Flava (blonde as mature corn) and Frugifera (bringing fruits). The reason to be celebrated in April comes from the fact that in March and April nature return to a birth cycle. Harvests are sacralized through Consus (male polarity) and Ops (female polarity). In august we celebrate in fact the Consualia (21) and Opeconsiva (25), of course together with Ceres, with convivial meals based on bread, flat-bread and other corn-derived foods and absolutely avoiding any kind of meat.

  2. Howdy this is kinda of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use
    WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    • Hi, sorry for the late response, I’ve been away.
      Well I got most of my information from the sources I listed below, I’d check those out first. I would Google ‘August Full Moon’ and see what else you come up with. As I said in the post, there are different names for the full moon depending on the source (native american, pagan, farmer’s almanac, etc). So you’ll probably get a variety of answers!
      I also like the Paganism/Wicca site in About.com. http://paganwiccan.about.com/od/moonphasemagic/g/Corn_Moon.htm
      Hope that helps!

  3. Neat blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog shine.

    Please let me know where you got your theme. With thanks

    • Thanks! Well I use WordPress which comes with a bunch of different themes. I used ‘Chateau’ but there are heaps more. You can customize colours, fonts, layout, etc. Good luck!

  4. Great blog you have here but I was wanting to know if you
    knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics talked about in this article?
    I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get opinions from other experienced individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

  5. Very good blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little
    lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a
    free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?

    There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Thank you!

    • Thanks! I would probably start with a free site until you get a handle on things. There’s other free blogging sites, but WordPress is pretty powerful in terms of functionality but still flexible. You can also purchase your own domain name through WordPress and keep all the WordPress functionality. Anyway, that’s what I think!

  6. We absolutely love your blog and find nearly all
    of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content
    available for you? I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome web site!

  7. Howdy are using WordPress for your site platform?

    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set
    up my own. Do you need any html coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

    • Hi, WordPress is pretty easy to setup and use. No code required. The text editor is similar to Word, and there’s lots of helpful forums and videos to help you learn the more advanced concepts. I would recommend it!

  8. Hey there would you mind letting me know which web host you’re using? I’ve loaded your
    blog in 3 different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.
    Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a fair price?
    Many thanks, I appreciate it!

    • Hi, I use WordPress, which is a free blogging site. You can purchase your own domain name and still use their hosting platform if you want to, otherwise your site contains ‘wordpress.com’. WordPress is pretty easy to use, no coding required, and has a lot of neat features, widgets, etc. I recommend it!

Leave a Reply

