Am I Fluffy?

One question that comes up time and time again online is the dreaded “Fluffy Bunny” phenomenon in Wicca.  What is this “Fluffy Bunny”?  Am I a “Fluffy Bunny”?  Well I don’t call myself Lady MoonFlower, but I do like Scott Cunningham.  I don’t wear 20 pentacles, but I do like collecting brooms because they’re pretty.  I decided to find out just what this Fluffy Phenomenon is all about and whether I was going down the dreaded Fluffy Path.

Catherine Noble-Beyer has defined Fluffy Bunnies as “one who refuses to learn, refuses to think, and refuses to consider the possibility that they could possibly ever be wrong”.  In that case, no, I don’t think I’m Fluffy.

But I do like the ‘feel good’ version of Wicca, the Scott Cunningham Wicca, who has been accused of ignoring the ‘dark’ side of Wicca and focusing only on the ‘light.  Some say its ‘watered down’ Wicca.  Ok, Scott Cunningham never once mentions ritual scourging in his solitary Wicca books, and other ‘scary’ things.

Seems like most agree that “Fluffy Bunnies”:

  • Are into Wicca because it’s cool, they’re friends are doing it, to piss off their parents, etc.
  • Read one book on Wicca and think they’re Wiccan.
  • In addition, quote that author as the sole authority on Wicca.  Even if that authority is not correct.
  • Wear black clothes and pentacles all the time because it looks ‘witchy’.
  • Focus on the ‘light’ side of Wicca instead of accepting both the ‘dark’ and ‘light’ sides.
  • Spell ‘magick’ with a ‘k’.

I took an online Fluffy Bunny Pagan Test to determine if I was Fluffy.  Even though I think I answered the ‘correct’ answers (the author was very clear as to which were the ‘wrong’ (aka Fluffy) answers), I still got a score of 43% Fluffy!  It makes me think, do you have to take all the romance out of Wicca in order to avoid Fluffiness?

All in all, I don’t think I’m Fluffy.  I’m just new.  I’m learning.  And after all this research, I think the topic of Fluffidom is waaay too deep for this novice mind.

2 thoughts on “Am I Fluffy?

  1. lol. From what I have gathered people assume all Wiccans are fluffy. We’ve become the over popular faith and thus have some backlash from that. Thanks Charmed…

    But as I told someone awhile ago, all those who assume I am fluffy because I am cute, and silly and wear pink, have no actual idea what I do in my spiritual practice. So whatevers. They can think what they like.

Leave a Reply

