The Enchanted Cat

“The Enchanted Cat” Ellen Dugan

Witches, Pagans, and other magick-minded folks will love the dozens of charms, spells, and meditations included for working with feline power. A naming ceremony, lists of magickal cat names and correspondences, and spells and charms for your cat’s collar are just a sampling of the feline-friendly magick inside. Cat astrology, tarot, and even a discussion of feline feng shui make The Enchanted Cat a uniquely magickal exploration of our enduring fascination with the feline mystique. (Amazon)

______

When I saw this book, I knew I had to have it!  As a true cat fancier (and most likely a cat in my previous life), I thought anything to do with cats must be absorbed.  This was my first Ellen Dugan book, but probably not my last.  The Introduction was cute, describing how she ‘didn’t want to write about cats’ and was planning another topic when the Goddess spoke and made her intentions known.  The book has some good chapters on cat mythology, history, folklore, as well as charms, spells and divination to do with your cat and without.  It also included a smattering of cute cat quotes, some which I’ve included below.  I found this book ok, but maybe I was expecting more.  I am definately going to try some of the spells with my own beloved grey furball, if he will let me.  I recommend this book to any true cat lovers out there who are interested in reading more about cat folklore and mythology, and trying a few magical workings with their kitty of choice.

“I have studied many philosphers and many cats.  The wisdom of cats is infinitely superior.”  Hippolyte Taine

“Thousands of years ago, cats were worshipped as gods.  Cats have never forgotten this.”  familiar saying

“Cats are a mysterious kind of folk.  There is more passing in their minds than we are aware of.” Sir Walter Scott

“A cat is nature’s beauty.” French proverb

“There are no ordinary cats.” Colette

“Time spent with cats is never wasted.” May Sarton

“You can’t own a cat.  The best you can do it be partners.” Sir Harry Swanson

“What greater gift than the love of a cat?” Charles Dickens

“Happy is the home with at least one cat.” Italian proverb

“No amount of time can erase the memory of a good cat, and no amount of masking tape can ever totally remove his fur from your couch.” Leo Dworken

“My cat knows the song in my heart and purrs it to me when my memory fails.” Unknown

“If you want to know the character of a man, find out what his cat thinks of him.” Anonymous

“People who hate cats will come back as mice in their next life.” Faith Resnick

Leave a Reply

